Skip to content

Massive Attack releases Heligoland

February 9, 2010

Heligoland is the fifth regular studio album from the collaborative British music production duo Massive Attack, entitled after the German archipelago of the same name. The record features always-chosen Horace Andy plus the following invited vocalists: Tunde Adebimpe of TV On The Radio, Damon Albarn of Gorillaz, Hope Sandoval of Hope Sandoval and the Warm Inventions, Guy Garvey of Elbow and Martina Topley-Bird. The first single off the album is Splitting The Atom.


It was worth waiting for this album. Couldn’t agree more on The Guardian’s review of the album:

After shoals of film music by 3D (Robert del Naja), Massive finally resurface, seven years after the lowly 100th Window, with a shadowy beast bespeckled by starry guest vocalists. After Tunde Adebimpe’s quirky opener, is this a grumbly throwback to downbeat trip-hop featuring Daddy G and smoky old friends Horace Andy and Martina Topley-Bird? Partly, but then comes Hope Sandoval’s exquisite fragility on “Paradise Circus”, Guy Garvey’s lugubrious humour on the clattery “Flat of the Blade”, and Damon Albarn’s warm, surging loneliness on “Saturday Come Show”. Another mutation that can, out of the blackness, wriggle spectactularly.

Download both Splitting The Atom and Paradise Circus here.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 11, 2010 17:23

    c est bien

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: