Skip to content

Rod Stewart: Soulbook

October 26, 2009
Rod Stewart

Stewart in a recent interview with Access Hollywood. Click on image to watch the interview.

Stewart is still good at this and continues his career as a cover artist. His voice is probably the best part of the album. It’s his signature, it’s rough, raspy and it fits this genre a bit better than it did the American Songbook collection of tracks. There’s a big 1970s vibe to the album and the arrangements of many of the songs, from the instruments to the production, makes Soulbook sound as if it fits into his early releases. Unlike with the past songbook collections, Stewart comes off a bit more comfortable in this genre and back in his element.

 

Stewart said:

This is the album I’ve waited my whole lifetime to record. These are the songs that I’ve danced to, made love to, cried to and yes, even fell on the floor to as a young man in the infancy of my career. These songs and singers were the oxygen that fueled my passion to sing. When I was a skinny, cocky, all-mouth and trousers teenager living in North London without two pennies to rub together, I discovered the artistry of Otis Redding, Sam Cooke, Jackie Wilson, James Brown, The Temptations, The Four Tops and so many more. They were my Gods and my heroes.

The album is a collection of 1960s and 1970s soul classics, featuring a stellar list of guest appearances and veteran musicians from the Motown and Memphis Soul era. The album features Jennifer Hudson on Let It Be Me, Mary. J.Blige on You Make Me Feel Brand New, Smokey Robinson on Track Of My Tears and Stevie Wonder on My Cherie Amour. The album is now available globally. 

RoRod-Stewart-Soulbookd Stewart Soulbook Track-List

1. It’s The Same Old Song
2. My Cherie Amour Ft. Stevie Wonder
3. You Make Me Feel Brand New Duet w/ Mary J. Blige
4. (Your Love Keeps Lifting Me) Higher And Higher
5. Tracks Of My Tears Ft. Smokey Robinson
6. Let It Be Me Duet w/ Jennifer Hudson
7. Rainy Night In Georgia
8. What Becomes Of The Broken Hearted
9. Love Train
10. You’ve Really Got A Hold On Me
11. Wonderful World
12. If You Don’t Know Me By Now
13. Just My Imagination

 

Download You Make Me Feel Brand New feat.Mary J.Blige here .
Download If You Don’t Know Me By Now here .

Leave a Reply

